Alliance Arts Council

About Us
About Us
Support the Arts
Contact Us


Alliance Arts Council
incorporated April 30, 1985


AAC Board of Directors:
Virginia Carr, President
Becky Mitchell, Vice-President
Earlynn Lawrence, Secretary
Sheila Schmeits, Treasurer

Connie Ackerman dot Beth Bourn
Barbara Kendle dot Sarah Glesinger
Shannon Kinsella dot Angie Flesner
Deb Moore dot Dalsey Lambley



Mission Statement:
The Alliance Arts Council will provide quality artistic/cultural events
and opportunities for all citizens of Box Butte County.

The people of Box Butte County will enjoy a variety of quality artistic and cultural events and opportunities which attract all segments of the community.

The schools in Box Butte County will welcome arts and cultural events and opportunities as a regular part of their students’ education.

The arts will be well-supported by local entities.  Funding will be readily available because of the recognized stewardship of the Alliance Arts Council.

The first Alliance Arts Council performing arts season was in 1985-1986.  The initial AAC Board of Directors was comprised of Evelyn Bauer, Darrell Berg, Marcy Giles, Oralene Hofmann, Greg Kosmicki, Cindy Randall, and Albert Reddish. 

The first events hosted by the Alliance Arts Council were a concert by The Ravnan Two and an artist-in-residence by the Gulizia Brothers.  1986 marked the first year that season tickets were sold; there were 63 members/season ticket holders.
Adult price was $25 and student/senior was $20.

Through various matching grant opportunities, the AAC has been able to assist the Alliance Public Schools with the acquisition of stage curtains, tables, chairs, and risers; and also, the Carnegie Arts Center with their initial building renovation.

Cindy Randall was named the AAC Executive Director in 1991. 

The AAC established the endowment in 2001 and continues
to add to this fund to preserve our future.

The AAC currently averages 150-190 season tickets/members each year.

Some of our past events include...
Audun Ravnan, Tulsa Ballet – “The Nutcracker”, Missoula Children’s Theatre, Omaha Symphony Chamber Orchestra, Box Butte County Centennial Play, Scarlet & Cream Singers, Nebraska Theatre Caravan, Ballet Omaha, White Eagle, Gulizia Brothers, Moscow Boys Choir, Scott Duncan, Mariachi America, Yesterday – “A Tribute to the Beatles”, The Original Dickens Carolers, Lazer Vaudeville, Todd Almond, Termesphere Exhibit, Common Ground Dancers, The Unexpected Harp, “Red Skelton” – A Tribute by Tom Mullica, James Wedgewood, “Buffalo Bill” – William F. Boycott, Robert Peltz exhibit, Queen City Jazz Band, The Diamonds, and Woods Tea Co.

Supported By...

Nebraska Arts Council

The Nebraska Arts Council, a state agency, has supported these program(s) through its matching grants program funded by the Nebraska Legislature, the National Endowment for the Arts and theNebraska Cultural Endowment.
Visit for information on how the Nebraska Arts Council can assist your organization, or how you can support the Nebraska Cultural Endowment at

Mid-America Arts Alliance is generously funded by: Marian & Andy Anderson; Keith & Connie Ashcraft; Sally & Rob Baird; BancFirst; Billie & Howard Barnett; Ross & Marianna Beach Family Foundation; The Brown Foundation, Inc., of Houston; Capital Federal Foundation; The CH Foundation; Chesapeake Energy Corporation; Cooper Foundation; Louetta M. Cowden Foundation; Carolyn Dillon; David & Dee Dillon; DST Systems, Inc.; Karen & J. Robert Duncan; Mr. & Mrs. C. Kendric Fergeson; Mr. & Mrs. Terrence Ferguson;  J. Scott Francis; Francis Family Foundation; June Freeman; Hall Family Foundation; Ann Garvey; Jean & Willard Garvey Fund; William Randolph Hearst Foundation; Joan Horan; Inasmuch Foundation; Murial McBrien Kauffman Foundation; Nancy Lee & Jonathan Kemper; William T. Kemper Foundation, Commerce Bank, Trustee; Richard P. Kimmel & Laurine Kimmel Charitable Foundation; Kirkpatrick Family Fund; Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Kranzberg; Carl McCaffree; The J. E. and L. E. Mabee Foundation, Inc.; Joan Markow; The Meadows Foundation; Nancy & Peter Meinig; Earl & Marilyn Mitchell; Don & Barbara Munro; Sue Renken; Wallace & Martha Richardson; Carol & Scott Richie; Judith & Frank Sabatini Frances Shackelford; Fred Simon; Sprint Nextel Corporation; Richard J. Stern Foundation for the Arts, Commerce Bank, Trustee; Sunderland Foundation; Art & Carol Thompson; James & Elizabeth Tolbert; Janice Lee & Danny Trayer; TricorBraun; K. T. Wiedemann Foundation; and the following public agencies: Institute of Museum and Library Services; National Endowment for the Arts; National Endowment for the Humanities; Arkansas Arts Council; Kansas Arts Commission; Missouri Arts Council; Nebraska Arts Council; Oklahoma Arts Council; Texas Commission on the Arts; The Arts Council of Metropolitan Kansas City; and the Kansas City, Missouri  Tourist Development Fund.

Click for print-friendly version.